See the heirachy of angels: The most powerful to the lowest angel



There is a clear explanation on who angels are in any faith that is rooted in the faith of an unknown God.

Angels are known for being God’s messengers and representatives. In Christianity, Judaism, and Islam, the faith in angels is often seen.

Christianity and Judaism, however are highly and deeply rooted in angels’ belief, as angels were mentioned in the Torah and beyond counts in the Bible.

Islam also speqk of angels’ life, such as the angel who gave the letter to Muhammad the prophet.


There is a strong belief in the presence of angels, so strong that it went ahead to categorise angels.

The division of angels into spheres and multiple orders or “Angelic choirs” is based on the assumption that some angels are greater than others and should therefore be classified into angelic hierarchical orders.

In his book “De ceolesti hierarchical (On the Celestial Hierarchy), the most powerful Christian angelic hierarchy was that presented by pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite in the 4th or 5th century.”

Specifically, in Galatians 3:26-28, Matthew 22:24-33, Ephesians 1:21-23, and Colossians 1:16, Pseudo-Dionysius (On the Celestial Hierarchy) and Thomas Aquinas drew on passages from the New Testaments to create a schema of three Hierarchies, Spheres or Triads of angels, with three Orders or Choirs in each Hierarchy.

The Biblical canon is ambiguous on the subject since the two writers drew on the New Testament, and these hierarchies are considered less authoritative than biblical content.

As alluded to in the theological doctrine of the communion of saints, there is a popular and special vision of the truth and contemplation of God’s face in Heaven without any distinction between angels or human souls The Summa Theologia notes that in terms of creation, the power of intercession to God and direct faith in human lives, there are different degrees.

The first sphere of angels is the angels of the highest rank, who serve on the throne of God.

They are hailed to be the most powerful and the nearest to God’s throne. But the first sphere is broken into three spheres. Ranks in order;

Seraphim, The Seraphim,

Cherubim, The Cherubim

The Thrones.


Seraphim is known as burning ones. They are six-winged creatures with two wings that cover their face and two that cover their legs, and they fly with the other two.

Seraphs are regarded as the highest class of angels and act as caretakers of the throne of God. They are known to sing praises to Heaven, singing “holy, holy, holy, Lord of the hosts” continuously.

From the cherubim;

They are considered to have four faces, one of a lion, one of an ox, one of an eagle, and one of a man. They are described as having eye-covered conjoined wings. The path to the tree of life in the garden of Eden and the throne of God is guarded by the Cherubims.

Thrones; the

The thrones are seen as a representation of the justice and supremacy of God. Though the thrones in the Jewish angelic hierarchy are often identified with the orphans or Erelims. The Ophanims are identified as wheels by Daniel. They are unlike other celestial beings, as the spirit of other beings is said to move them.

Christian theologians do not describe them as wheels, like the Thrones as one of the choirs, identifying them as adoring elderly men who listen to God’s will and present men’s prayers. In the book of Revelation, the twenty-four elders are commonly considered to be members of this group of angels.

The second sphere includes angels that, in the first sphere, are regarded to be strong but not as powerful as the angels. By subjecting matter and guiding and ruling spirits, they act as heavenly governors of creation;

Lordship or Dominions,

Virtues, or bastions,

The power of virtues.

Lordship or Dominions;

It is understood that dominions govern and regulate the duties of lower angels. They make themselves known to humans only in very rare cases. They are described as angels with a pair of wings who look like beautiful humans.

They bear scepters with orbs attached to their swords’ tops or pommels, which differentiates them from other angels.

Virtues or strongholds;

It is believed that these angels perform signs and miracles in the universe. It is through these angels that the universe produces miracles.

The name of the Holy Virtues means a certain strong and unshakable virility that flourishes in all their God-like powers; not being frail and helpless for any reception of the divine Illuminations given to it; mounting upward to assimilate with God in the fullness of power; In its own weakness, never falling apart from the Divine Life, but rising unwaveringly to the super-essential Virtue that is the Source of Virtue: fashioning itself, as far as it can, in virtue; turning perfectly to the Source of Virtue, and flowing out providentially to those below it, filling them abundantly with virtue.


In order to preserve order, the forces or authorities control the movement of celestial bodies. They are also portrayed as warrior angels with both offensive and defensive weapons. They are often known to battle and detain evil spirits.

Angels who actually act as celestial guides and guards, protectors and messengers to humans are the third sphere.

The third sphere includes;

Principalities or dominants,


From angels.

Rulers or principalities;

The principals are angels who, like the church, guard and defend nations or groups of people. They preside over the angels ‘band and charge them to carry out the upper spheres’ orders. It is said that they wear crowns and bear scepters. They are the instructors and guardians of the earthly world. Like beings connected to the germinal realm of thoughts, many things such as art or science are said to inspire living things.


The word archangel comes from the Greek word “archangelos,” which is translated as “the chief angel.”

Twice in the New Testament, the word Archangel was used, and it was used to refer to Michael and Gabriel. In the Book of Tobit (Tobias), though, the name Raphael appeared. Raphael told Tobias that he was one of the seven who stood before the master. Therefore, this means that there are seven arch angels to which Michael and Gabriel belong.

In the Apocryphon, read by Anglican and Russian Orthodox Christians, the word Uriel was also referred to. Seven prophecies were revealed to Ezra by the name Uriel, which means “Light of God.” He was also alluded to in Enoch’s novel. It is a shame that they have excluded these books from the Bible.

It is said that the seven archangels are guardians of nations and countries and are concerned with topics such as politics, trade, and military matters. Michael, however, is also portrayed as a warrior angel.

From angels;

The “Malakhim,” the simple angels, are the lowest and most known order of celestial beings. They are the ones who are most concerned with men’s affairs. There are several different types, with different roles, within the group of angels. The Angels are sent to earth as messengers. Personal guardian angels fall from this class. The private guardian angels are not distinct beings, but are classified as “angels.” They are believed to be allocated to individuals, whether or not they are Christian.

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *