Hon Asafo Adjei Elected As Chairperson For Nhyiaeso Sub-metro



Hon Asafo Adjei, assemblyman for South Suntreso electoral area has been duly elected as the Chairperson for Nhyiaeso Sub-metro of the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly.

He won by 9 votes out of the 19 total vote cast, beating two candidates; Appiah Akwasi Patrick and Isaac Marfo. The duo won 5 votes each.

It happened at the sub-metro’s version of the swearing-in of reconstituted sub metro and town councils members and election of sub-metro and town council chairpersons event held on Wednesday 13th July 2022 at the assembly.

Hon Amoako Akwasi, Hon Gyamfi Kwadwo Harrison and Geroge Kokofu were also elected as the chairpersons for Santasi, Pataase-Suntreso and Nhyiaeso town councils respectively.

The official swearing-in was carried out by the Asokwa Circuit Court Judge Her Honour Naa Quarshie whereas the elections were also supervised by the electoral commission.


Speaking ahead of the elections, Coordinating Director for Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly Mr. Kwadwo Akuamoah Boateng underlined the event as part of the top-down administrative approach of government.

He said delivery at the sub-metro level reflects the relevance of the lower level structure of the assembly.

Mr. Akuamoha therefore charged the new members to carry on with the good works of their predecessors and contribute their quota in the development of the area as they execute their mandate.

Addressing the media, Hon Asafo Adjei promised to beef up the IGF of the sub-metro. To achieve the foregoing, he indicated that he will effect measures that will see to the collection of night levies.

The Nhyiaeso sub-metro chairman said he has realized that most traders who do business in the night do not pay levies during night hours.


About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *